Goidell, Maguire headline new ASB Executive Board members

Sophomore Will Alpers ran unopposed for ASB School Board Representative.
Sophomore Will Alpers ran unopposed for ASB School Board Representative; seven other candidate were elected in competitive races to next year’s ASB Executive Board. (Photo: A. McIntyre)

By Sean Gellen,
BlueDevilHUB.com Staff–

You heard their speeches, you watched them debate, and now the results are in for the Davis High ASB election. The ASB President for the 2016-17 school year will be junior Sam Goidell.

“It was really fun running my campaign and now it’s time to make good on the promises I made while I was running. I am very excited to continue improving the school I love so dearly,” Goidell said.

Goidell eagerly anticipates following through on his promises he made, especially regarding DHS events.

“I am most looking forward to being able to take the lead on all of our events to make them the best they’ve ever been,” he said. “I’m also looking forward to following through on the reforms I promised to achieve.”

Junior Darby Maguire is excited to start ASB Vice Presidential duties next year.

“I’m looking forward to being in charge of the class,” she said. “It will be really fun to get to work with Sam and Mr. Vasquez.”

Junior Samantha Moore was elected to the Senior Class President position, and junior Maya McHale will be Senior Class Vice President.

“I wanted to be more involved [with the school], especially since there’s so many great events that the seniors get to plan,” McHale, “I had lot of fun helping with events this year, so I thought that it would be great if I could continue doing that next year,” McHale said.

McHale will work side by side with Moore to plan senior events next year.

“I’m really grateful to have a great president to work with and I’m confident that we will put on some great events for the senior class,” McHale said.

Other winners of this year’s election include sophomore Leah Pinto for Junior Class President, sophomore Albert Hu for Junior Class Vice President and sophomore Rachel Trauner for ASB Communications Commissioner.

ASB Secretary and junior Sabreen Rashmawi, ASB Treasurer and junior Kasra Soltani Nia, ASB Clubs Commissioner and junior Hunter Morse, and ASB School Board Representative and sophomore Will Alpers ran unopposed and will also be serving on next year’s Executive Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *